Follow Us
Stay connected with all our latest events and exhibits by following us at our Facebook or Instagram pages.

Click here to learn about classes and other offerings by the WEST Performing Arts Academy

Read the Newsletter

With generous support
from

Exhibition Schedule and Entry Info

This page provides complete details about our exhibits for gallery visitors and participating artists alike. For additional information, you can use the button below to download a PDF of our monthly calendar.

Download our Monthly Calendar



2017

62nd Annual High School Show

Since 1955 the Santa Cruz Art League’s High School Show has been providing one of the only professional gallery exhibitions for high school age artists in our county. Students from local public, private, charter, home and at -risk schools are invited to benefit from the Art League’s state-of-the-art space and give the audience a preview of the next generation of local artists.

  • Exhibition: April 28, Friday to May 21, Sunday - 2017
  • Reception: May 6, Saturday   3:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Drop off 2-D Art: April 18, Tuesday, 3-6pm & April 19, Wednesday, 3-6pm
  • Drop off Ceramics: April 24, Monday, 3-6pm
  • Pickup: May 24, Wednesday, 3-6pm
Views of the Cruz – Members Exhibition M-Z

From time immemorial artists have depicted the places where they live, work, and play. With its vast natural beauty and creative life, Santa Cruz has inspired generations of artists. Santa Cruz Art League Members are invited to submit works in various media to share their own Views of the Cruz.

  • Exhibition: June 2, Friday to June 25, Sunday - 2017
  • Reception: June 2, Friday   6:00pm – 8:00pm (First Friday)
  • Drop off: May 28, Sunday, 12-4pm, CLOSED May 29, Monday & May 30, Tuesday, 2-4pm
  • Pickup: June 25, Sunday, 4-6pm & June 26, Monday, 2-4pm
  • Details:
    • Open to Santa Cruz Art League Members.
    • Installation fee: $25, 1 art piece per artist.
    • Staff will need 2 labels for art piece - 1 for art piece & 1 for office.
    • Artwork does not have to be for sale.
    • Please bring finger foods for the Reception.
    • Entry forms are available for download here (pdf, 84 kb)
Capturing Dance

Trying to capture and convey motion is the inspiring and technically remarkable accomplishment of dance photographers. This exhibition will highlight the work of photography artists whose images catch the spirit, the essence, and the sheer drama of movement and introduce audiences to featured local dancers.

  • Exhibition: June 30, Friday, to August 6, Saturday - 2017
  • Reception: July 7, Friday   6:00pm – 8:00pm (First Friday)
  • Drop off: June 25, Sunday, 4-6pm & June 26, Monday, 2-4pm
  • Pickup: August 6, Sunday, 4-6pm & August, 7 Monday, 2-4pm
87th Annual Statewide California Landscape Exhibition

For almost nine decades, the Santa Cruz Art League’s Statewide Landscape Exhibition has showcased the work of artists across the Golden State who depict California’s foothills, mountains, seashores, and deserts of the interior and coastal regions.

  • Exhibition: August 11, Friday, to September 10, Sunday - 2017
  • Reception: August 19, Saturday   3:00pm – 5:00pm
  • Entry Deadline: May 15, Monday (11:59pm) 2017
  • Shipping Drop Off: August 3, Thursday & August 4, Friday
  • Drop off: August 6, Sunday, 12-4pm & August 7, Monday, 2-4pm
  • Pickup: September 10, Sunday, 4-6pm & September 11, Monday, 2-4pm
  • Details:
    • Juried Show
    • Open to artists of California, Juror will grant $2,000 in Awards.
    • Entry fee paid to www.OnlineJuriedShows.com: Non-Refundable.
    • Entry fee paid at: www.OnlineJuriedShows.com. Artists may submit up to 5 entries.
    • SCAL Members - $35 for one entry, $10 for each additional entry up to 5.
    • Non-Members - $40 for one entry, $10 for each additional entry up to 5.
    • jpegs: 1920 pixels@72 dpi.
    • Artists agree to donate 45% of any sale of work / 30% if SCAL Member, to Santa Cruz Art League (SCAL).
    • Work requiring special handling is to be installed & removed by artist.
    • No work may be substituted or exchanged for any reason.
    • Work must be original, for sale, ready to install.
    • Work should arrive on required dates/there is a $5 a day Late Pickup fee.
    • Shipped entries must have a Prepaid Return Shipping Label (UPS & FedEx) & a $20 check for unpacking/repacking fee per box.
    • At Drop Off, staff will need 1 label for each art piece and Artist Bio.
    • Please bring finger foods for the Reception.
Open Studio Preview

In partnership with the Santa Cruz County Arts Council, the Open Studios Preview Exhibition will offer a sneak peak of the great art of over 300 Santa Cruz County artists participating in the Open Studios Art Tours in the first three weekends in October.

  • Exhibition: September 30, Saturday, to October 22, Sunday - 2017
  • Reception: October 1, Sunday   3:00pm – 6:00pm

For details, please visit the Santa Cruz Arts Council’s site, www.artscouncilsc.org/open-studios/

Art/Now/Next (Sponsored)

Honoring the Santa Cruz Art League’s nine decades long tradition of showcasing local artists, Art/Now/Next will feature the work of local, diverse artists under 40. The exhibition will introduce its audience to the next generation of artists who will continue to nurture Santa Cruz County’s creativity and innovation.

  • Exhibition: October 28, Saturday to December 3, Sunday - 2017
  • Reception: Nov 3, Friday   6:00pm – 8:00pm (First Friday)
  • Drop off: October 25, Wednesday 10-4pm ( a second date TBD)
  • Pickup: December 3, Sunday, 4-6pm & December 4 Monday, 2-4pm